Venom (2018)

Venom is an American science fiction superhero film that grossed $856.1 million over a budget of between $100 an $116 million, becoming the 7th-highest-grossing film of 2018.  It’s based on the Marvel Comics, and is the first film in the Sony’s Marvel Universe franchise.  It’s rated M for science fiction themes, violence and coarse language (in Australia).  The following are the 10 most recent Rotten Tomatoes critical reviews for the film.

220px-venom_282018_film_poster29

July 25, 2020
[I]t all feels so constrained by its PG-13 rating, and with the anarchy appearing so anesthetized, it’s up to Hardy to carry the picture to the finish line.
July 18, 2020
Venom is basically The Mask with a slobbery tongue and none of Jim Carrey’s slapstick charm.
July 17, 2020
Venom feels like something Sony made so they could retain control over one of the few aspects of the Spider-verse they still owned. Without Spidey to anchor the storyline, though, it just feels adrift.
July 5, 2020
It’s worth focusing your attention on Tom Hardy’s amazing, physical, and enthusiastic performance. [Full review in Spanish]
June 30, 2020
I can’t say I like Venom and I can’t say I hate Venom, but I am glad I watched it. It’s a bizarre slice of schlock insanity that’s simultaneously the product of out-of-control interference by the studio and the singular dedication of Tom Hardy.
June 23, 2020
I suppose one could say that about just about any bad movie, but Venom’s energy and a couple of its performances elevate it above the worst of the worst… It’s also a very bad movie, make no mistake.
May 20, 2020
I didn’t hate this movie… I had a fun time.
May 20, 2020
A stupid, fun time.
March 3, 2020
The film devotes way too much time to exposition (the first act feels like it goes on for about an hour), but once it gets going it’s decent fun.
January 23, 2020
I would like to watch more of Eddie and Venom bantering about their common character defects and possibly eating people.

[What do you think of this film?  Be sure to let me know in the comments!  Also, send me your review for any movie, and I’ll post it on this site.]

Index of films

http://www.cepher.net/?af=59

One thought on “Venom (2018)

Leave a comment